Multritracking Modular with Ableton

Not EXACTLY monome related but I’ve gotten so much helpful info from people on this forum while lurking in the shadows so I thought I’d turn to you guys for some help directly.

I’m still really new to the modular scene and I’ve been running into a lot of frustrations when researching mixers, interfaces etc. that will allow me to send voices to individual channels in Ableton.

I’m planning to purchase the mutable mutable instruments shades module with the intention of running other modules through it to my 1st gen Scarlett 18i8 and then into Ableton. I’m basically wondering if the shades will bring the CV out down to a friendly level (sent via 3.5mm - 1/4 cable) that will be OK with my interface. Am I correctly understanding the function of Shades?

I had previously considered the ES-8 but it’s pricey right now and, while I like the expandability of it, at this point in my modular journey I’d like to explore limitations.

This is the rack if it’s of any help!
(Clouds, pressure points and (potentially shades?) still forthcoming)

just to clarify, are you talking about multitrack audio recording, or running actual control voltages into ableton for use with silent way or a similar cv>digital software?

and Shades would probably not do what you’re talking about. Shades is a cv or audio mixer but it doesn’t transform audio down to an appropriate level for your scarlett. there are modules that do that for audio - check out stuff like Intellijel’s ujack or Meng Qi’s Please Exist. looks like you already have a Rosie in there, which does this for two tracks.

that said, if audio multitracking is all you need to do, it’s just as easy and effective to use any DI box with a pad on it. I run signals from my modular into a few Radial Pro D2s and then into the pres on my saffire pro40. works great with no fuss and frees up precious hp space.

1 Like

I’m just talking about multitrack audio recording here.

1 Like