Mutable Instruments modules: design, usability, theory, philosophy, etc

I’m new to modular synthesis, and a few people I’ve spoken to have said that they don’t like Mutable Instruments in general because of their sound and controls. But there are artists I really like who use Rings and Clouds pretty prominently. Are they that unwieldy?

Mutable Instruments Rings

Mutable Instruments gear from the last few years has a lot of thought and care put into the interface – especially the new batch. Some of the older modules have hidden modes, Easter eggs, and so on, as well as alternate firmware that sometimes confuses people. This is especially true of the discontinued modules, though honestly they’re not that bad.

Rings does have a major Easter egg mode and some “hold down this button for other modes” that are pretty well documented but not at all hard to use; the interface overall is straightforward and consistent.

I’ve never used Clouds myself, so I can’t judge that one. The designer, Olivier, doesn’t like how it came out, and though it was one of his top sellers, he discontinued it a few months ago and is likely to replace it later this year with a more focused, improved granular module.

First of all sound and UI are different aspects and should be considered separately (even if, of course, at the end of the day they all concur to making the instrument what it is).

Mutable Instruments seems to be a bit more polarizing than other makers (especially when it comes to modules like Rings and Clouds), some love the sound, some don’t. It mostly comes from the fact that these modules do have quite a specific, not very neutral sound (which isn’t a bad thing in my opinion, after all, we all want a guitar to sound like a guitar don’t we?)