Need a looper: Replace Digitakt with ______?

I’ve had a Digitakt for a bit over a year and it’s primarily been relegated to use as a looping device. This seems a bit wasted, since the DT can do so much more. I’m just not much of a drum programmer and while single-cycle waveforms are fun, I prefer knob-per-function with that sort of sound generation.

But what could fill it’s place? I’m not opposed to software options or more ‘DIY’ options in Max (though I’m far from an expert there).

Here are the specs I need:

• At least 4 asynchronous loop slots
  • Capable of live loop recording as well as sample playback
  • Adjustable start/stop/loop points (if software, these need to be controllable by a MIDI interface)
  • Being able to randomly adjust those points would be a huge plus
  • Time/pitch shift (preferably not just a 1/2 speed button)
  • Foot controllable, even via MIDI, would be great
  • Of equal to or lesser cost than the DT

Maybe such a thing doesn’t exist and the DT is it, but the DT lacks simple live looping, so that’s a big negative against it.

2 Likes

Do you have iOS? Audio damage Enso looks amazing. It’s also available as an audio unit.

5 Likes

What about a Roland SP-404A, essentially the same as the SP-404SX which you’ll find loads of youtube videos on. The only thing that might not fit for your requirements is the pitch shifting. It has some abilities in that area, just not quite as fluid as the Digitakt’s.

1 Like

I don’t think any of the SPs work as a live looper. Has to be stopped/not playing to be armed to record.

Ah yes, sorry missed the live bit in the requirements.

https://www.headrushfx.com/products/looperboard

i am working on a eurorack module like this. will be a while before its finished but its happening.