New to modular, system advice needed

mod edit: thread has been closed due to general inactivity and content crossover with Eurorack: ask questions here, which is the Sticky thread for this topic.

i was hoping i might get some advice?

i’m new to the modular game (although i have been making music with analog synths + whatever else for sometime now) and have found myself lusting after Mannequins! - trouble is i’m not exactly sure what they can do, or how useful they would be in my system?

i started off trying to build some kind of crazy percussion machine but i was thinking i should add more modulation / filter capabilities. looking at my system, does it make sense for Three Sisters and Just Friends to be there? and if anyone has any other ideas on how to fill the remaining 5hp (top) and 4hp (bottom) i would be most interested to hear you opinions.

thanks in advance.

Hi

You have no separate VCAs or envelope generators. I think a number of the modules have built in VCAs or work with triggers, so you could get percussive sounds out of this, but I’d suggest that you’d be really limiting your possibilities with a set-up like this.

Hope that helps - not trying to be blunt but there is much more to discover with a few tweaks here.

thanks for the reply, blunt is good! i was thinking about adding a 4hp ADSR, so if i were to follow your advise i could also add a 4hp VCA. would that be adequate? or perhaps a couple of each from 2HP?

I’m not sure, but perhaps @Autogeneric was suggesting you build an entire subtractive synth voice, which would suggest some kind of oscillator as well. Just Friends includes its own oscillators (polyphonic if you add a Teletype), envelopes, and level controls. But they don’t work the way a typical Moog-style subtractive voice works. I don’t think you really have room for both.