Noob questions

llllllll

complete noob here.

i’ve been able to determine that i want to use modules as effects for my synths. but i don’t really know where to start??

what kind of modules should i be getting? what kind of case(s) should i be getting? what should i know about coding? what do i need to know about anything? im clueless.

links to stuff ive stumbled upon and liked:

(also if it helps you help me: so far i have a monome white whale and a sputnik four tap delay/dual crossfader)

any help would be appreciated! thank you!!

New to modular, system advice needed
Best representative threads

If you’re just thinking modular, here is a thread I started not too long ago. The great folks of this community really help me understand modular. Once you get started, you take off really quickly.

woah, that was extremely helpful!! i think i have a much better idea of how to go about doing this thing.

from what ive gathered it seems like we want to do the same thing with modules? (basically custom build an effects pedal for our synthesizers).

it looks like the first thing i shouldve done was find a case. so could you explain what 1U, 3U, 4U, 6U, 7U, etc. means??

Useful threads from the forum whose name I shall not speak:

https://www.muffwiggler.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=106396

https://www.muffwiggler.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=43964

Most eurorack modules are 3U tall. So most cases have rows whose rails spaced apart for 3U tall modules. Some cases have a row whose rails are spaced apart for 1U tall modules. These 1U tall modules are sometimes called “tiles”. When you see someone talking about a 3U case, it’s a case that contains one 3U tall row of some width. (Width is expressed in HP.) When you see 6U, they’re talking about 2 3U tall rows. 4U means 1 3U tall row and 1 1U tall row. 7U means 2 3U rows and 1 1U row.