Norns compressor settings for different scripts

I was wondering how the community approaches the Norns inbuilt compressor?

I have some experience setting compressors up for more “basic stuff” like a simple guitar comp or similar things. But for broader soundscapes ambientish stuff say the sounds you´ll get from barcodes or granchild I´m never quite sure what the proper setting or a proper setting would be.

7 Likes

I almost always leave it turned off.

When my audio is feeling “peaky”, with loud bits unpleasantly cutting over quiet bits, i’ll turn the ratio to ~4, then lower the threshold until the peaks even out. Adjust those two parameters to taste. I tend to leave the others alone.

My other use case is squishing drums, which is much the same process, but with a higher ratio

adjusting compressors without a visualizer is super tough, though!!

6 Likes

In general, for program material, longer attack and release settings will be more appropriate.

However, compressors can be used for a lot of things: shaping attack transients, adding distortion w very tight response settings of a few ms, balancing the attack and sustain portion of a sound, pulling a sound back or forward in a mix, limiting peaks, smoothing overall levels.

So, the settings are going to be different depending on what you want to accomplish. I find it helpful to listen carefully and decide what my purpose is in altering the dynamic range of a sound. That makes it much easier to dial in settings, and gives me a goal to compare the results against.

All of this is impacted by whether the audio being compressed contains one or more instruments, if it will be heard solo or is being mixed with other tracks, the actual content of the material, etc.

So, what musical task(s) are you trying to accomplish?