Norns hackalong

next session

dec 7 noon PST

as threatened on the skill share thread, i’m planning a live development session for norns.

this will be on saturday, september 28, from 12 to 4pm pacific standard time.

in this period i’ll attempt to make an engine and a script from scratch, while sharing dev machine screen / norns video / audio / chat.

i’m thinking the product will be some sort of synthesized drum machine, and a pattern input mechanism inspired by the immediacy and simplicity of the boss dr-55 and other funny old things.

i’ll probably do this in a google hangouts youtube live stream (thanks for suggestions.)

i’ve never done this before, so expect awkwardness and technical difficulties!

79 Likes

I will try to be there ! I must remember ! That’s a wonderful initiative, thank you for taking the time to try and do that.

Love this idea. Will be lurking the stream for sure :sweat_smile:

1 Like

@zebra Thank you so much for doing this. Would it be possible to save the session for later viewing? I would like to attend but am traveling.

3 Likes

Would appreciate this also, am planning to tune in but can only make the first hour

I’ll probably dial in a little after starting (5am Australia time). I can have an early night on Saturday :slight_smile:

1 Like

Just a nerdy tech thought, feel free to disregard. I’m sure Google Hangouts will work fine for this, but it sounds like this is a bit more broadcast than multicast in intent. On that note, something like Youtube Live might make it easier to share the recording later. Then again, I’m sure it’s possible to share a Hangout recording too. So maybe it doesn’t matter? (I’m new to this type of thing as well)

3 Likes

I’m in! I’d also 2nd @jasonw22’s suggestion of a youtube live stream for posterity and “rewind-ability-ness”. Thanks for taking the time either way! Excited to lurk @Justmat style.

1 Like