Norns: How much can Norns do at once?

I’m sorry if my search-fu has failed here. I am considering getting a Norns when I am able for a grid project. I feel confident that it can handle my specific project as a controller front end. That said, it’s pretty unclear what to expect a Norns to be capable of doing.

I realize that it is a challenge to say “this multipurpose computer can do X amount of things” and that it is a bit of a silly question, but that said, I would love some practical examples of “what pushing a Norns to its limits” looks like.

2 Likes

I’m quite new to norns as well so definitely not the best equipped person to directly answer your question, but this script, islands, might be of interest to you as an example of what can be done simultaneously on norns. Are you wondering about maxing out the CPU or something more specific?

1 Like

The limits of individual scripts in terms of CPU usage will I think mostly depend on the Supercollider engine used and how much things Softcut does.[ I don’t think the rest of what Norns does is really CPU-intensive. EDIT : ignore this last part and see the post beyond mine which contains more relevant info regarding that…]

Beyond that, as far as I understand it, a Norns script can have a Supercollider engine, which can generate/process audio and can also use Softcut (to process/manipulate audio/samples). Well, this is actually a logical or, as the SuperCollider engine and Softcut are not mutually exclusive :slight_smile:

On top of that the Lua layer handles data in terms of controls, UI, etc.

And there’s some reverb/compression and the tape player at the end of the chain if I’m not mistaken (i.e. the tape does not go through Softcut or the engine).

1 Like

its impossible to answer without knowing your metrics for success.

the lua interpreter and the supercollider synthesis server each get approximately a full 1.2 GHz core on the compute module.