Norns Scripts Installation Scripts

Hi All,

I’m a Mac sysadmin as part of my paid work, and have become used to creating installer packages to install software, admin scripts etc.

macOS installer packages can contain files (to be installed into specified directories), but can also run scripts to eg set options on device on which the package is being installed. Scripts can run before and/or after files have been merged into the target filesystem.

Is there an equivalent mechanism in the Norns ecosystem, whereby pre and/or post-install scripts can be run when a Norns script is installed?

1 Like

Norns scripts arrive via git straight from a repo’s main branch, and are updated that way too. norns runs on Raspbian which has apt. The audio engine SuperCollider has Quarks as packages.

The norns scripts I’ve seen do post-installation operations do them my doing checks on launch, and making OS calls if necessary to install packages etc.

If git has post-clone hooks, they would serve a purpose maybe?

Does this help?

3 Likes

Thank you, that’s very useful. So I guess I’ll check for installed files etc. in my main Lua script, and pull them down via git or move them into place from the main script directory if necessary.

The general expectation/assumption is that “scripts” are just that, lua code which can be run immediately by simply cloning a git repo or unpacking a zip file. The unit of management is a directory in the code folder.

It is worth noting that scripts managed via git can use git submodules to pull in other dependencies as part of the install.