Norns shield Eurorack housing

Hi, I just ordered the Norns shield kit and a pi3 and I’m thinking about adding the system to my eurorack. I couldn’t find anything about that here. So I was wondering if someone tried this already. Id love to build something like this out of a plastic front and route the USB and mini jacks to the front. Not sure if that works but it would help a lot. Any ideas or suggestions are welcome :slight_smile: I added some Illustrator sketch that kinda shows what I mean. (It based on an Idea I found in the forum earlier. I’ll link the person who inspired this design to this text later, when I find him again. ) Thanks a lot

6 Likes

I’d be interested to see what options people come up with for routing the usb connections and audio inputs to the front panel. My guess if you’d want some sort of attenuation before the input of the norns also so you don’t fry the audio in on the norths shield.

1 Like

Good thought. As I´m a total Newbie I didn’t think of USB, and attenuation. Maybe I’ll end up using it as standalone. :slight_smile: - Thanks a lot. I just wanted to think loud here. Here is a little design update. norns_shield_eurorack_housing.ai (53.3 KB)

Also wouldn’t mind to take it out of the rack for usb use (Im doing that with pico drums anyway) and just have the audio and ad a small eurorack attenuator or the ones from Koma https://koma-elektronik.com/?product=koma-attenuator-cable

One other thought — since the Pi3 requires ~2.5A of 5V power you’d also want to consider an external power supply. All of this is certainly doable though, you could even get some USB-A -> B extenders and mount them to a panel.

2 Likes

I actually have this in my rack which come in handy :slight_smile:

that emits 1.5A of 5V in a best case scenario. A Pi 3 wants a good 2A+ of power; the official 2.5A power adapters are a good bet. I would not go near trying to run this off your Eurorack’s power supply.