Op-1 vs octatrack mkii?

so im thinking my next big musical investment will be either an op-1 or octatrack mkii. I know elektron does other units more similar to op-1 but i am mostly interested in sampling and sound manipulation. but i also love the sounds and recording capability, as well as portability of op-1. thoughts?

I had a OP-1 for a couple of years, and it sure is a cool unit. Used it mostly as a sampler and sequencer. The real strenght IMO is the portability. I found that I could do sampling and sequencing duties better with DAW, and that I didn’t really need the portability. I do miss it from time to time. It is fun to play and can trigger ideas and stuff.
I have no experience with the Octatrack. I think Knobs has a cool demo of it, that focuse on sampling?

1 Like

Firat of all you shouldn’t consider the Octatrack mk2. The mk1 can be bought for half(!!) of the price and it can do exactly what you can do on the mk2.

The octatrack is amazing. So is OP, but its apples and oranges. Personally I would get the octatrack.

1 Like

I have both right now. For sampling and sound manipulation? I’d choose the Octatrack.

If you prefer a portable, more versatile machine, go for the OP-1.

1 Like

I considered an octatrack (used mk1) when the mk2 went out, but ended up with an ER-301 :smiley_cat: I wanted a sampler to use as a sort of “room full of magical tape machines”. There seemed to be a consensus that the octatrack has a strange workflow (along the lines of “difficult to get but very efficient once acquired”), so I read the octatrack manual, looked at videos of the ER-301 (there’s no manual yet, but some great user documentation); and one of those machines clicked with me, so i went for it without regrets. It’s probably not the same use case though.