Other natural or unnatural processes that are like modular synthesis

hello, i’m new to modular (i got an 0-coast about a year ago and am obsessed with it, i just acquired a braids and am building my rack this weekend), and like all people who are new to modular, i’ve been watching zillions of youtube videos on the topic. of all of the disembodied voices i’ve heard in eurorack vids, the one that stands out most to me is make noise’s tony rolando.

in one of his videos, tony explains that the modular synthesizer and the composer meet halfway between chaos and control. even if the composer has a complete grasp on how synthesis works and what the modules do, there’s a certain amount of unpredictability that augments the composition process and creates results that are different from and better than what the composer was planning.

i make a lot of kimchi, which is a korean fermented food that is similar to sauerkraut, but spicier and more complex from a flavor standpoint. when i heard tony explain that synthesizer-composer relationship i got butterflies in my stomach because i feel that the fermentation process is very similar. fermentation depends on the bacteria that live on everything to make lactic acid, which preserves the food. also, bacteria and yeasts and other stuff that exists in the air affect the final product in ways that are difficult to articulate (it’s like the difference between a bottle of cantillon and a bottle of sour beer made with lab-controlled yeast/bacteria). no matter how perfectly i control the ratio of cabbage to garlic to chili pepper (to salt to miso etc) there is a certain amount of the final product’s taste that will always be due to those microscopic elements beyond my control.

i’m wondering if you have found any other processes in your life to be like synthesis in this way.

full disclosure: i run the tiny chicago-based kimchi company kimchi boy’s kimchi.