Overdrive everything: overdrive, distortion, fuzz

So, I like overdrive/distortion/saturation/etc, and I’m kind of new to the hardware game. I’ve played guitar/bass my entire life, so I understand single-channel insert FX, and I’ve messed around with Ableton Live for years, so again, I understand inserts and FX send buses. However, now I’ve got some hardware including a mixer (with 2 sends), and I kind of want to dirty up my signal.

If I just wanted to dirty up a single channel, then yeah, I get how I’d just stick the effect in that chain, but how do I dirty up everything? My own logic tells me to just put an overdrive pedal (or whatever) on my master out(s), but first of all pedals are generally mono, but also I lose the ability to headphone monitor (which is usually how I jam) without more hardware (to amplify the signal for my headphones).

I’m trying not to justify buying an Analog Heat, I swear. :innocent:

edit: ideally this is something that’s easily portable for live performances/etc, also.

What ever you do, perhaps wait until OTO Machines Boum is released? It’s their compression effect, but they are usually stereo and I have heard good things about the way you can overdrive their units for saturation.

Or use a hardware box as a send and return, so you don’t need to sling it across the master? Just send everything to that effect.

The Roland Torcido can be picked up pretty cheap if you find it in stock.

Here’s what I’d like to do if I wanted to add stereo distortion to my rig : dedicate a little Eurorack case with appropriate modules (pairs of distortion modules, at least two multiples and two mono mixers), and connect the case to the mixing desk’s master insert bus.

But in the end I’d probably buy something like Analog Heat, based on price and convenience…