Parts/Components you always keep on hand.

Hey everyone!

I am fairly new to DIY/design (and relatively new to this forum, I think my post count is maybe 2 as of writing this) and wondering what parts would be good to keep on hand. Of course there are various resistors, caps, diodes (including LEDs,) jacks, and pots. I also have a few breadboards lots of wire, and since I’m focusing on euro specifically, a dedicated euro power supply for the breadboards. Beyond that, what components do you keep stock of? I want to order/build up a small stock of common components to have at the ready when inspiration strikes, rather than having to wait several days for an order.

Besides the above, I’m thinking:
various BJT and JEFT Transistors (any specific/interesting ideas on these welcomed)
Decade or other counter chips
Op Amps
A couple different vactrols

Right now I’m planning on ordering a bunch of parts found in the mki x es.EDU BOMs, but I’m wondering if there’s anything else useful out there that I might not be aware of yet.

2 Likes

This doesn’t exactly answer your question, but if you are planning on doing a lot of breadboarding these may save you some hassle and frustration:
https://mutable-instruments.net/archive/bbf/

10 Likes

Wow, that’s awesome though. I was not aware of those…I’ve already become frustrated with the jacks coming out of the breadboard. Thank you!

1 Like

in my own experience, as someone who hasn’t had to manufacture or mass-produce (at any scale) any of my electronics projects, it’s better for me to order what i’ve needed (this includes extra parts for mistakes when reflowing surface-mount boards). over time, this has led to a surplus of different parts that are useful to me in my projects and that kind of naturally selects my “go-to” components that i commonly need. i feel whenever i’ve purchased components that i didn’t have a concrete use for, they sit on a shelf and collect dust.

3 Likes