Performing Modular Live

Inspired by,

Would be interested in hearing any tips on performing Modular live. Do you use a cue / dj mixer to prepare patches? Do you live patch, or play an existing patch? How many points of control (my phrase, meaning the knobs or controls you plan to manipulate during the performance) do you shoot for in designing a performance?

I’m new to performing live. My first show I relied on an Octatrack (which I’ve since sold) to mix the modular with samples. The samples helped me transition between sections. I built a four by four matrix for the show, with four segments, each with four points of control. I gave each segment a quarter of the time (5 minutes, for a 20 minute performance). New rig, that I’ve yet to test in front of an audience, is OP-1 for samples and ‘fill’ and a 104HP skiff modular with a complex oscillator, lpg, random source, function genertor and sequencer, with clouds for some dsp. (DPO, lxd, wogglebug, maths, ansible / kria / grid).

I’m working on another 4x4 grid using the above for a show in a few weeks. I’m leaning towards creating a patch and playing it with only knobs as control points. Would love to hear other approaches. I’ve been checking out videos on youtube as well, any recommendations there would be great!

[Fictional Book] A Modular Improviser's Handbook
Making stand alone modular instruments
OCTATRACK // uses / tips / tricks //
Composing on modular

It seems like everyone has a different approach to playing live. I would love to discuss all of the different ways. Much like recording, I think we find comfort zones based on our needs and get used to that.

I have done only a handful of modular live performances in front of an audience, but almost every time I just sit down with a patch, I practice the things that I would do if I were playing live to learn techniques for giving natural movements to a patch.