Please Share Your Experience of Rewarding / Engaging Interactions with Music Devices

I’m a Masters student in the Music & Technology program at CMU. This year I’ll be researching my thesis.

I’m interested in expression, musical control surfaces and interfaces, and networking / communication between musical devices. With the proliferation of expressive controllers in recent years I’ve spent a lot of time thinking about the details that amount to an engaging and rewarding interaction between a performer and their instrument (loosely defined).

As the title suggests, I’m hoping to solicit personal experiences of rewarding and engaging interactions with music devices. It could be an acoustic guitar, a modular synthesizer, or perhaps a circuit bent radio; I’m not drawing any lines here (pun intended).

Now, to get the ball rolling … Stringed instruments have a special place in my heart. Two of the earliest instruments I played were the violin and the guitar. There’s something supremely tactile about the experience of playing a stringed instrument; even the subtlest movements of the hands navigate a vast landscape of timbral possibility.

Earlier this year when I had the opportunity to play a beautiful Warwick bass, the thought “now THIS is an instrument” popped into my head. I was surprised; I couldn’t remember having had a similar thought in all the years I’ve spent discovering and playing new instruments. The connection with the guitar was palpable. Even though I’m a poor excuse for a bassist, it was immediately clear to me that I could express myself with this instrument.