Ppooll - Max/MSP networking system

I was surprised to see that no separate thread for ppooll had been made. I couldn’t find one when searching.

For those who don’t know it: https://ppooll.klingt.org/index.php?title=Main_Page

ppooll is an audio and visual networking system created from Max and Jitter patches.
ppooll itself is an architecturally refined version of the earlier software lloopp .

I’ve been using it myself on and off since about 2015. It’s endlessly fun to patch around in and explore. I used to just run it via the max 6 runtime, but for some reason that broke, so I tried Max 7, but couldn’t really get it work, so now I’ve got a monthly subscription to Max 8, mostly to use ppooll.

I’ve used it live a few times, really good for sample manipulation and playback stuff.

Lately I’ve returned to it to do software feedback, which I’ve never really found particularly interesting, but suddenly I seem to have found something interesting. It primarily involves the xfilter object, a compressor (and now the Melda spectral dynamics) and other objects to alter the sound. I’ve found that using convolution reverb plugins will result in some surprisingly tactile sounds. Especially if you modulate the settings of the xfilter heavily, record and then manipulate the samples even further. I use the free Melda one, EZ convolution. It’s got some great unusual ones under “sound design”. Highly recommended for this sort of thing.

If you’re interested in hearing what it can do, send me a message.

Oh, and the ppooll mail help list is great. Klaus and co. really do a great job at helping out, clearing out bugs and updating it.

11 Likes

[I have removed the tracks]

2 Likes

what I heard was great, but it made my dog very mad (which basically never happens with music, he’s always sitting behind me)

I remember reading somewhere that Tim Hecker uses/used pooll a lot around the time love streams came out