qualia: dan derks & zander raymond

on august 7, 2021 at around 3pm, @zanderraymond and i sat in the monome workshop and spent some time exploring sounds together. it’s something i’d wanted to do since we’d played separately at @andrew’s apartment in 2018. zander had queued up our involvement with cached.media, originally intended as a remote collaboration – but during his and nolan’s visit to delhi (we hadn’t seen each other since january of that year, when rocky and i moved from chicago), it didn’t make sense not to try something in real-time.

honestly, this album almost didn’t happen. i hadn’t recorded since 2019 and had only recently started exploring what it’d mean to make music again. as we started the session, i became deeply judgmental of my re-orientation and after a few false starts, i turned my equipment off in a flurry of frustration. a few moments passed and i looked at zander and, exhausted, said, “i’m sorry, i’m really sorry — i’m just not a musician anymore.” he waited a beat, letting this sit in the air, then said “it’s okay” and hugged me.

after a bit, he asked for clarification on what i was experiencing and i described that while i’d spent the last two years consumed with building tools, i hadn’t really spent any time playing them. he considered this and asked, plainly and without pressure, “do you want to try again?” i looked at him — one of my dearest friends, an artist who i so deeply admire, radiating honest caring love — and i realized i was letting my ego sabotage the chance for both us to, worst case scenario, have a nice day together.