Questions about getting into euro rack

Hello - long time lurker first time poster.

I have a walnut 64 grid I think from 2006 and an arc 2 that I’ve also had forever, but I find myself not using them because I work on a computer all day and don’t want to look at a computer after work.

So it seems like being able to plug into some modular synth hardware and generate sounds might be a great way to get back into them. But I have no experience at all with modular synths so I’m nervous.

So my questions are -

1. would older monome gear like mine work with this paradigm?

2. Where do I start - like what is the first module that I could get to start mashing buttons and making sounds? One that would be good for a beginner that I could build on as I figured it out and saved up cash.

Hopefully this isn’t to vague a question. Thanks!

I only used the Teletype among monome’s modules, but they do seem like they make a great little system in conjunction with the grid or the arc. I’m sure other people on the forum can answer your question better than I can, so let me focus on the second one.

What you need to start really depends on what kind of music you want to make, but we can maybe boil it down to:

• you’ll need something to make the initial sound. An oscillator, or another sound source. Now ask yourself, what kind of sound are you after? Are you more into synthesis or sampling? If you’re into synthesis what kind of sound are you after, should it be classic subtractive, wavetables, FM, Buchla-style fm/waveshaping, etc. Probably to begin with it makes sense to get an oscillator that does a fair amount of things, but isn’t too complicated or overloaded with features.
  • you’ll need something to play your modular, I think this is where the monome modules come into play. If you’re already familiar with teh grid and arc, then it would make sense to use those to play the modular.