Raspberry pi zero

My Dad has given me one of the raspberry pi zeros. I know they’re pretty new out, but does anyone have an idea if they would be suitable for music making?

I really like the look of b-step, and If I hook it up to a touchscreen LCD then could be a nice wee pocket plaything.

The lack of a dedicated headphone socket is puzzling, I presume audio will be channelled through the micro HDMI socket. If anyone has other ideas about a musical use for these I’d love to hear it! (Disclaimer - I am a total novice, having never used before. But I am willing to learn).

https://www.hifiberry.com/

You can indeed get at audio from micro-HDMI; $5 USB audio adaptors are also available that work. The old headphone jack on the A, B, and model 2 Pis was basically doing PWM and was a bit horrible, so you’re actually not missing much there. (By contrast, my Hifiberry sounds excellent).

Sonic Pi is a rather interesting livecoding environment for Windows/Mac/Linux, aimed at education, but it’s a rather competent Ruby-based environment with live interpretation; you can do surprisingly musical and expressive stuff in it - eg, here’s Piano Phase:

notes = (ring :E4, :Fs4, :B4, :Cs5, :D5, :Fs4, :E4, :Cs5, :B4, :Fs4, :D5, :Cs5)
phase = 0.05

live_loop :slow do
  play notes.tick, release: 0.1
  sleep 0.3
end

live_loop :faster do
  play notes.tick, release: 0.1
  sleep (0.3-phase)
end

512 ram is decent but might get bogged down running X and so forth; it might be interesting to use them as a player for pd patches, say, or as an environment for other livecode environments like Tidal.

(I’m working on an instrument that will probably be built around one and the official touchscreen; more on that probably in the near future.)

2 Likes

Apologies for not doing my own research, but maybe someone knows off the top of their head. Would Raspberry Pi Zero be a useful platform for eurorack module development? I guess my main concern is power consumption.