Reaktor blocks

i just spent my first couple hours playing with blocks (no prior reaktor experience) and i have to say it’s pretty dang sweet. i love being able to keep the modular mindset intact while on the laptop - no midi in sight!

have you tried BEAP in max? it’s also pretty fantastic. (i haven’t tried reaktor blocks)

I just picked up Reaktor 6 a few days ago after seeing a few videos on blocks. Like you I have no prior Reaktor experience. I am also thoroughly impressed.It sounds great and the interface is fantastic. I love the vast amount of blocks in the user library. It’s not at all hard to get interesting patches going. With some of my patches I feel like I need a 50" screen. I’m addicted.

Some of my favorite Reaktor Blocks:

Combine those (and others) with the various MIDI Out Blocks to be found in the User Library, or route audio to Expert Sleepers modules for CV Out, and you can integrate with pretty much anything outside of Reaktor.

While BEAP does provide higher level abstractions in Max, I’d say that Reaktor Blocks are higher level yet. Abstractions that leave the realm of “audio” and enter the realm of “musical”. That can be a blessing and possibly a curse. It’s a blessing if you want to quickly wire some blocks together eurorack style. Potentially a curse if you want to create a new kind of block and you don’t like Reaktor’s low level way of working. For myself, I generally find it to be well thought out, with a few frustrating restrictions here and there. Those restrictions are intended to be helpful standardizations most of the time, but sometimes it does feel overconstrained.

Another curious development that was announced during Misukmesse:
http://www.softube.com/index.php?id=news150

Softube is proud to announce Modular: A new cross-platform modular synthesizer plug-in that looks, works and sounds exactly like its analog Eurorack counterparts.