Received a monome for Christmas! Best way to learn?

So my wife knew that I wanted to learn to make some music at home so she got me a monome128 and ableton live lite for Christmas. I’m stoked to learn all these new things! I was wondering if there was some good reading and learning material out there to help a total noob get started? Thanks everyone!

3 Likes

Nice. I’m learning too.
I think the best way to understand the whole thing is using SUM and TERMS for Ableton.
I thinks is a good start!

Do you have to have a higher version of live than lite to use terms? When I Try to use terms ableton says that it cannot be used with this version.

welcome! this is an exciting time to come into monome!

terms and many other ableton-integrated monome devices require Max 4 Live, which is obtainable through the Suite upgrade or standalone purchase. def worth it, if you have any holiday $$ hanging around, if not just for @elquinto’s re:mix.

otherwise, start with sum, mlrv, party van and mark eats sequencer to utilize monome/intro to its fullest potential. you’ll have to get very intimate with midi to do this, so make sure you cash in on berklee’s free ableton course (see Ableton’s website) or Lynda.com / Groove 3.

I found that watching videos from @tehn and @Rodrigo were some of the best tutorials. both of their performance videos are fantastic and really show how versatile monome can be.

2 Likes

Yeah very exciting!

Definitely worth playing with sum/terms/mlrv, and party van too (though it’s only mapped for 64, so it would only use half of the 128). That will be changing soon, but it’s not quite there yet.

7 Likes

Thanks for the replies guys, gonna download those today and check out those videos. Upgrading to the suite may take some time, it’s a good chunk to spend on a brand new hobby so soon.