Relations in modular

Hello everyone !
I am kind of new in the modular world and digesting a lot of concepts. I just want to expose to you all my lasts thoughts, thinking that you may have a lot of intersting things and reference to add.
The thing that hit me the most in eurorack, is that each module is only a mechanism, with a certain range (ex: an oscillator, with a frequency range) but the mechanism don’t have a define fonctonality, it’s the relationship (an output to an input) with an other mechanism wich define it (ex: an oscillator modulating an other create a vibrato, a new timbre with audio rate to fm or sync, a two note melody from the square output, etc…). All the magic of the modular coming from the fact that un mechanism can have multiple relation at the same time, thus creating multiple fonctinality, and may have an input and an output relationship, maybe with the same module (feedback).

I stumble across maths from time to time, and relation are really interesting, this site list some kind of mathematical relations in a set, and it’s easy to make a connection with modular patch, is every thing connected ? Is each voice carefully serparated ? Where are the relation, where is there no relation, where are the border of each cohabitating systems?

I am still struggling a bit to understand the category theory and all the implication of the Yoneda Lemma. But I think there are things to find here.

All of this are budding thoughts, enough of my vision, what are yours !

6 Likes