Resumé Critiques & Feedback

Hello all.

I’m in the middle of a job search and realized I wanted a place to get constructive feedback on my work-in-progress resumé. Since I didn’t see a thread going on this topic I decided to start one myself.

To get started, maybe I’ll just make a few quick and dirty rules:

1. When posting, obscure sensitive information such as phone numbers and email addresses.
  2. When posting, mention the sorts of positions you’d be applying for, to add context.
  3. When critiquing, be honest but kind. This should go without saying.

(As this thread goes along, I might add more if needed.)

Anyway, I hope this thread can be helpful to someone!

2 Likes

So I’ll start us off. Here’s my work-in-progress resumé.

I’m looking for a job as a graphic designer/creative director sort of thing. However, since I don’t exactly have working experience in an actual business yet, (I’m just starting out), I’ve decided to rely more on a list of projects I’ve been involved in.

I’m not sure if I’m going into too much detail about what I’ve done? I may pair back some of my less relevant projects if it seems to be necessary.

It’s ok if you don’t have paid experience, but you might want to restructure your resume so a reader can scan your expertise more easily. Break up your what have I done section. This is the most important section, it should be most readable.

7 Likes

It’s tough, I’ve not been looking for work in years, so I’m VERY out of touch and don’t know that what I have to say is valid anymore. My daughter is looking for work right now and I have become aware that the world has changed significantly and things that I thought weren’t important, now are.

But back when I was hiring designers, the important thing was the portfolio. The resume meant very little to me, I just want to see what you’re capable of.

2 Likes