Reverse-engineering physical audio hardware into software

Hi all. Longtime lurker, first-time poster.

I’m a software-first kind of musician, in that I don’t own a ton of hardware, for several reasons (space, money, curious/destructive little kids, etc.) and like doing as much as I can on a laptop.

I’m curious if anyone has experience translating “open” physical units into software, using audio programming languages like Pure Data or Supercollider, or even more traditional languages like C++. I’ve been programming personally and professionally for nearly 20 years, but have very little experience with hardware, circuit boards, etc. and am fairly new to audio programming as well. The SOMA Lyra-8 in particular comes to mind, because it has a DIY version that seems to expose a ton of implementation details that someone could learn from.

I know some of it has to be possible, due to the popularity of VCV Rack, and its software implementations of several Mutable Instruments modules.

Ethically, I obviously wouldn’t try implementing anything seriously without consent from SOMA or any other manufacturer I’m trying to emulate, and definitely wouldn’t release anything publicly without their full support. I mostly just want to know what’s possible, for my own personal growth and use.

Any books, sites, or other learning resources that would help me to understand more of the translation of physical audio hardware into software would be very much appreciated!

One related thing to explore in this, if you have access to effects units etc, is using impulse response recordings (usually used for capturing room reverb) but blasting it through the hardware. Lots can be done with that method too.

1 Like

As with most ideas for apps, it appears that this has already been done: