Richmond, VA. Events? Groups?

Hi everyone, I’m new to lines, though less new to generative, sound design, and livecoding which I have come across some of the former on lines.

I noticed there’s been some events of the past in Richmond, namely those of @scotttburton . I’m looking for some, or a group in Richmond for experimental mediums (music, visual). Would anyone care to enlighten me of current happenings?

3 Likes

Maybe @Benjamin_Mauch knows some current happenings? Also, maybe @stephenvit can add some suggestions here?

Yeah there is some cool stuff that I’ve been increasingly out of the loop on-----having 2 kids will do that sometimes lol. I recently played a show for a new series called Four Folia run by Curt Sydnor who’s doing cool stuff locally, and also Hotel Greene is a spot that has been hosting some great shows that are more experimental. Also the Crazy Doberman crew are here and occasionally do live stuff that you can find on their instagram. I don’t know of any one group that organizes stuff but those are good starts I think.

2 Likes

I’m in Richmond a recently just finished installing a quadraphonic audio/visual system at a friends art gallery on Broad St. Might be fun to get some performers together to use the space sometime!

10 Likes

Oh nice! What’s the address/name of the gallery?

I’ve heard of Hotel Greene, though know very little. On the website I don’t see much about upcoming events, just how to setup one.

I’ve also heard of Curt Sydnor, great musician. I found the next date for the Four Folia Concert Series here. January 7th…not much other information about it?

I had not heard of Crazy Doberman. I’m digging there stuff. Thanks for introducing me.

Thanks for the info scott,

I’m in RVA. I’m playing Saturday at Strangeways brewery with an experimental band. I’m playing Ciat-Lonbarde Sidrax and probably a Buchla Music Easel. All improv stuff.

Also at Orbital Music Park there are synth jams usually at least once a month.