ripples

ripples

a water droplet sequencer for norns (currently at v0.5)

I’m quite new to norns, lua, etc. but this idea has been bouncing around for a while now, to let interfering circular waves (“drops”) trigger notes (which I call “stones”, that for now are just MIDI note values) and modulating their volume (for now) via the ambient “water level”. This is an early version, but I like the way it’s headed and I’m quite interested to get some constructive advice on how to improve it.

Next steps (once my grid arrives) is to both mirror the screen on the grid itself, but also allow a fluid interface to position stones and seed droplets, to make it more of an instrument than a static demo. I also can’t quite seem to cleanly modulate synth levels externally, i.e. I want ripples to be each voice’s one and only envelope.

Further development can be tracked on @entropybound on instagram

Requirements

For now just norns, and I require the Sines engine to be in place.

Documentation

At the moment this is a demonstrator, so there is little to document. The configuration of stones and droplets is hardcoded in init() but it responds well to interactive use in maiden.

Install by typing
;install https://github.com/steinber/ripples
in the command line (">>>") at the bottom.

This currently installs v0.5, which is much more capable than the video above!

K2 selects the stone (which light up when it has focus)
K3 selects the drop (which…doesn’t do anything at the moment, TBD)

The last button pressed sets the “mode” (stone mode, or droplet mode)

E2 selects the parameter according to the selected mode:

• Drop parameters cycle through x, y (position), t (time!), k (wavelength), and f (function, not working)
  • Stone parameters cycle through x,y (position), t (not implemented), n (MIDI note), and s (FM index)