Shared Studio NYC - Studio PASS 2.0

Hey gang -

I’m an NYC-based composer and artist with lots of ideas and little $$$. I imagine some other folks here might be in a similar boat.

Recently, I’ve been helping out at a Manhattan based 501c non-profit called Harvestworks, and we’ve been brainstorming some ideas RE: re-starting one of their original initiatives, called Studio Pass (Public Access Synth Share).

As an artist working with technology, I’ve found it’s been incredibly difficult to get access to resources (Virtual Reality PC/HMDs, multi-channel/spatial sound systems, Eurorack/modular, etc) without institutional support or commercial backing.

I’ve met with the director at Harvestworks, and more recently Laurie Spiegel (who was one of the founders) about restarting PASS as a cooperative space focusing on VR, spatial sound and analog synthesis, and it seems like some exciting things might be taking shape soon.

A few Qs for anyone who’d be willing to share their experiences:

Would any New Yorkers here have interest in a space like this? Does something like this exist in NYC already that I’m not aware of? Does any one have any glowing success stories/brutal horror stories w/r/t shared spaces?

Would love to hear yr thoughts, and v grateful for any wisdom or ideas you might be willing to share!

mg

12 Likes

You might be interested in checking MESS, out a similar space in Melbourne. Music only, but they seem to have the system down pretty well:

3 Likes

Story time:

I’m here in no small part due to PASS.

Back in the 70s, when I was in high school, a friend had built a PAIA synth from kit. Being into math and electronics, I was fascinated and borrowed it for a week. While it was janky and never stayed in tune, and was very limited, but it made me want to know more.