Simple Man Simple Music?

I have been lurking on the Monome site for the last few years. I have probably visited a thousand times. I am on the verge of purchasing an aluminum 128 grid, but I have a few questions and I’m hoping a few of you will be able to help me.

Let me start by saying, I am not a programmer, nor do I have any interest in writing patches or learning to program. I understand, after lurking here for so long, that this will limit what I can do with grid as far as apps go.

My question is this; out of the box, how much music can I make with just SUM? I realize it is limited in some ways, but it also seems fairly comprehensive. Can I utilize more than one app within SUM at the same time using Grid? Do I need any special software to do this? Are there any other apps available that are as user friendly as SUM out of the box that don’t require me to have any knowledge of programming?

I plan on using grid to move into minimalist modular within the next year or so, but until I figure that out, SUM is it for me. Let me state, I do not use Ableton, so that’s not an option.

Thank you in advance for taking the time to answer any these questions. Your thoughts are greatly appreciated.

1 Like

I don’t use sum much at all. But - do you have any vst’s, softsynths? Because if you do, then there are plenty of monome apps that you can use to make great music. Mark Eats sequencer and Polygomé are two of my favourites. Both very powerful and very easy to get started with. Polygomé works very nicely even without any fancy softsynth.

1 Like