Soul Pilgrimage: Tim Reynolds & Michael Sokolowski

https://promo.theorchard.com/yPvGigfPW5C7jsQOSBbY?skin=light

Hi, everyone –

I’m a newbie to this space – referred by a dear friend. So far, I’m intrigued by the interesting ML/AI functionality of the site (seems in service of the good) and what seems to be a bunch of great people.

I’m here to learn more about the amazing technology with which we’re surrounded, other people’s workflows, processes, and musical output.

It so happens that I’m on the cusp of releasing some music that I might as well share here by way of introduction.

This music has an interesting backstory – at least to me: Tim is one of my oldest friends and musical soulmates. We released a record of improvised ambient-ish acoustic piano/electric guitar duets in 1992. Since then, we’ve often talked about doing another one, but finding the time proved an elusive quest. Enter pandemic lockdown and no live music, and voila – some time presents itself. So this is a file-sharing process with a little bit of a twist: Tim doesn’t have a computer or home studio setup. So I gave him a Zoom H6 with a card loaded with sonic ideas for him to react to with his guitar. (Funny aside: I don’t have a card reader device, so I thought I could just drag the files off my computer and onto the Zoom, but it turns out you can’t do that, despite the USB connectivity. So I had to dub down the audio. First time using the record button on a hardware machine in ages.)