Starting point for "structured"/sequencing based modular setup

So, I’m slowly, but inevitably, being sucked into the black hole that is modular :slight_smile: Had my first fiddling around with them today at the local modular shop and now I’m looking at figuring out what to start with.
Since there’s such a large amount of experience with all kinds of modular setups here I was hoping for some guidance. I’m a total newbie at this, so I hope I’m not asking any crazy questions :stuck_out_tongue:

I believe the best start is to identify some modular “tracks” that I like that would the direction/kind of possibilities I’m looking for. I think I’m looking for something somewhat structured, i.e. with beats/bars as the starting point with added variations and randomizations.

I quiet like the following examples and would be very happy if I’d be able to create something that’s even remotely like any of these examples. Also, reflecting on these examples myself I think I like the “live” aspect of them quiet a lot. I guess that’s one of the things I’m looking for vs sitting behind a computer screen and clicking the mouse.

Really like this one. Reminds me of decade ago James Holden/Nathan Fake. Would love to be able to make something like this.

A bit Massive Attack like I guess, maybe a bit too much “wall of sound” for me, but still really like it as a more downtempo example

Not a full “track”, but really like the sound of this :slight_smile:

Also I noticed I quiet like euclidean rhythms and the polyrhythms one can make with it.

I don’t know if it makes sense, but the initial question I have is what method/module of sequencing to start with. It feels to me that the sequencing is the start/hearth of the whole thing that’s why I think it makes sense to start there. Not sure if that makes sense though.

Are there any sequencing methods/modules that fit really with for the above examples? Or methods/modules of sequencing that don’t fit at all?