Supercollider tips, Q/A

i got a PM from a lines subscriber recently asking for some basic supercollider tips.

thought i would answer some of the questions in a public thread because i know there are other supercollider beginners on the forum, as well as other experienced users, so yeah. more efficient.

i don’t really have time to show examples for everything but will get things started with a couple.

here’s what i was asked about:

• a piano roll
  • a step sequencer
  • detecting long key-presses
  • using pbind
  • switching modes on something (not real clear on this one)

and here are a couple caveats:

• i’m not going to attempt any instruction in good modular software design. these are isolated examples. in SC good design uses Classes, which need to be compiled. Event is useful for interpreter-time OOP, but this gets more verbose. we could introduce that later.

• i tend not to use super-idiomatic stuff like Patterns and Pbind. they are very useful but i prefer structures that translate more readily into other environments.

Approaching: norns

detecting long key-presses

this is simply done by setting a callback when the key is pressed, and cancelling it when the key is released. the body of the callback fires off the long-press event. just like other environments.

here’s a super basic example where the ‘a’ key starts the timer and the ‘z’ key cancels it (this is just to avoid dealing with key-repeat.)

it’s limited to a single event though, because it schedules stuff on the singleton AppClock, and clears everything on the clock when the “key is lifted.” for a bunch of events, i would use an array of Schedulers, or just a single Scheduler checking an array of states.