Teletype : ASR – analog shift register / Spannable CV Delay

Continuing on my task of creating a bunch of fairly simple utility scenes for Teletype, I’d like to unveil my newest creation, ASR!

Okay, it’s obviously not analog, (DSR doesn’t have quite the same ring to it…) and to be honest I’m pretty new to the idea of ASRs, so I’m not positive how much I stayed true to the concept of traditional ASR, but I’m very happy with the result, and still have some room to add more features.

Overview:
IN takes CV and records it to Pattern 0. X Y Z A are essentially 4 different read heads for CV outputs 1-4. PARAM controls the span between the read heads, at it’s minimum delaying each output by 1 clock, and at it’s maximum delaying by 16 clocks (evenly spaced throughout the pattern).

Initalization:

P.N 0
P.L 64
M 200

I’ve designed it to be externally clocked by script 1:

P.NEXT PARAM
SCRIPT 2
SCRIPT 3
SCRIPT 4
SCRIPT 5

Scripts 2-5 just output their corresponding read head, and increment:

CV 1 P 0 WRAP X 0 63
X ADD 1 X
IF EZ X MOD 64 : TR.PULSE 1

The 3rd line here is just a helpful visual reference, to give an idea of how the PARAM control is effecting span

M is where we update the span:

T ADD 1 RSH PARAM 10
X SUB P.I T
Y SUB X T
Z SUB Y T
A SUB Z T

Boring video, with no sound, but you should give you an idea of what’s going on

Let me know what you guys think, or if you can think of any ideas / features to add. Scripts 6-8 are empty, so I’m thinking about having different modes depending on which jack is clocking it? Or just saving to different patterns, for easier recall? Also potential for Ansible support, so I could make this an 8 stage ASR instead of 4. I’d have to rethink the span knob a little bit, because I’d like it still remain fully functional even if Ansible has other duties (Kria / Meadowphysics)

11 Likes