Teletype: Generating prime numbers

To preface, I’m new to Teletype — having only owned it for a week now and I’ve run into a bit of a wall trying to generate a list of prime numbers in the patterns section. I know that this is probably (most likely) CPU intensive, but I just wanted to try it as a proof-of-concept. If you see the problem and ask yourself, “why are you doing [this]?” then the answer is, most likely, “I have no idea!”

I’ve been staring at Teletype’s syntax for too long and I’m starting to get confused as to what the previous script referenced. Also, I’m not sure if you can nest commands, so I’m using new scripts for each loop. In the code, I’m notating the obvious, but it will help me explain better. Here are my scripts:

L 0 3: P. N I; $ 4
// Set the working pattern 0-3

L 0 7: T RRND 2 25; Z I; $ 5
// Generate random numbers for each index (to variable T)

W <= * X X T: $ 6
// Run script 6 while X * X is <= T

IF == % T X 0: X + X 1
// Check if modulus of T and X is 0. If true, then increment X

[I feel like I'm missing a recursion here]

ELSE: P Z T
// Add prime number to working pattern (set by script 3)

1 Like

i can’t quite grasp the full extent of how this works but i think BREAK operator might be a good tool. so you could do stuff like:

IF != % T X 0: BREAK

I had initially placed BRK after the X increment, but then it was breaking the whole process every time I hit the first composite number. I’ve put it up for now, but I’ll try it again tomorrow. I appreciate any further suggestions.

Instead of generating a random value in script 4, you can add another layer of looping to generate potential candidates (it’s gonna be slow but I don’t think efficiency is the goal).

At a high level it could look like:

For each pattern 0-4:
- For each position 0-7:
  Set X to last prime found
  Y 1
  - While Y:
    X ADD X 1
    J 1; Z 1
    - While J AND Z squared less than X:
      If Z goes into X: J 0
      Z ADD Z 1
    If J: P.PUSH X; Y 0