Teletype workflow for dummies

teletype

With features like Just Type, the upcoming w/ support and ER-301 communication, Teletype seems incedibly powerful and interesting. But at the same time, I just can‘t image how the module actually behaves when making music. So I was hoping TT users could share some basic experiences not related to any specific codes etc.

How is the actual workflow? Like, how much typing is required as opposed to regular patching and simply jamming away?

Also, can you e.g. connect (and control) Just Friends and w/ at the same time is it an either/or situation?

Any tips for potential buyers that are a bit scared of the whole keyboard thing?

Thanks. :raised_hands:

yes! i’ve been wondering the same thing, it’s good to see that more experienced folks are too.

It’s a little bit weird to wrap your head around first and I’m still learning it myself. The thing that helped me most was the documentation page and the Teletype studies. https://monome.org/docs/modular/teletype/studies-1/. The intro video helps too.

To start understanding it, I would begin with the basic concept that the 8 trigger ins can activate 8 corresponding scripts. These scripts contain commands that can output via the 4 triggers and 4 cv outs. You can also monitor the cv param input, which could be used to affect your scripts/cv/triggers/etc. I wouldn’t worry about the i2c stuff right off the bat, just the hardware ins/outs.

It depends. Mainly I find myself thinking about the objective, setting up TT accordingly, and then not touching it after that. But I do also have some scripts where I change things (Metronome rates, pattern values,…) while patching.

I’m presuming the answer is yes. I don’t have either (w/ on it’s way, and I plan to pick up JF at some point), but I do have TXo, TXi, ES, WW, AS attached. With more than a couple of modules connected to TT (see the TT threads for a lengthy discussion of this), you’ll want a tt-busboard.