Thicket Whispers - a Ciat Lonbarde album

Bandcamp Link

Here’s a new digital release:
Thicket Whispers

A dark ambient/noise/drone/“wall of sound” album made with Ciat Lonbarde instruments.

YouTube Trailer:

The main instruments were a Sidrax Organ, a Cocoquantus 2 and a Meng Qi Rollz-5+. Additionally, I used an old Sony dictaphone to capture ukulele, dishwasher and fidgeting sounds and I also played some notes on the ThumbJam iOS App a few of times. All sounds, apart from the Rollz-5 once or twice, were sent through the Cocoquantus. Everything was recorded on a Zoom R16 multitracker and mixed and mastered in Steinberg’s Cubasis 2 App on an iPad Pro.

Here are some free download codes:

afrr-kv7j (used)
ralw-y9pk
k7tf-7r38

k5nm-5lln (used)
k8a6-7a5e (used)
nzfk-5723 (used)

my52-7544 (used)
bk6a-vuea (used)
wnyb-kpfb

… redeem one here:
https://nightmachines.bandcamp.com/yum

Let me know how you like it. This is my first time getting deep into the Ciat Lonbarde universe and - of course - it’s quite amazing and a different kind of music making. I particularly enjoyed the dynamics and the wide stereo sounds.

Edit: behind the scenes picture

16 Likes

great great great! thanks for sharing. i only have Plumbutter and Shnth but absolutely love them and they both find way into my records!

oh, and is sounds gorgeous so far. this is the sound i’m very well into.

2 Likes

Thank you! It’s really odd how different I use these instruments compared to my other modular synths. I feel like it is easier to “patch from scratch” with the Ciat Lonbarde devices and keep things interesting. There isn’t a lot (if anything at all) that one has to pre-patch in order to get some sounds out of them, so one can just turn up the volume and slowly add one cable after the other and create an evolving music piece out of it without things getting too monotonous.

2 Likes