Thoughts on upgrading an aging system

I run win7 on a Lenovo t420 i5 8gb ram Runs ableton live with next to no latency. I have been using this system with an echo audiofire 4 for about 3+ years with hardly a hiccup.

I occasionally feel some anxiety about upgrading my hardware. How do you all manage your anxiety and execution with regards to computer upgrades adversely affecting your work?

One way would be to keep your old computer and associated gear and add a new computer. Then you won’t lose the ability to do anything and you can gradually move your work over to a new computer. I did it a couple times and it helped with my fears of the same type (but probably smaller in degree).

3 Likes

I just use the old computer :confused:
Why do you think an upgrade is necessary? I’m very envious of ‘hardly a hiccup’.

7 Likes

I’m with @Galapagoose on this one.

Why do you feel the need to upgrade?

My main music computer is a 7 year old Core2Duo iMac. It’s pretty much locked down at this point - I won’t be upgrading the software much if at all - but it has everything I need on it and runs smoothly. Which is probably the most important part.

1 Like

Regarding hardware : i manage that by looking at the prices of new laptops and observing that i can buy ten times the used one i currently have for the amount of money. Moreover, since CPUs model numbers stopped being of any use to intuitively place them on a scale of performance, i decided to not obsess with that like i used to from the 386 to the P4.

My biggest concern is (was) with software updates ! On linux systems configured for general desktop purpose, i find it is easy to endure some regressions (esp. regarding low latency audio, and if wine is involved) a few times a year. I always start with a minimal system but years passing, with the need to try this or that app, i end up with mountains of packages installed;