Tips and info on programming a firmware for Ansible

Hey!

Being a programmer by trade (javascript mainly) I was wondering if you guys that have done it already could give me some direction as where to start if I wanted to write a custom firmware for Ansible?

I’ve been looking for a solution to emulate the mlr app with the er-301 and Ansible but doesn’t look like it is entirely possible without modifying the software, so I’m not afraid of coding and willing to learn C but need some guidance as to where to go when you start from scratch.

Cheers!

1 Like

Here is the response I gave someone else privately in regards to the same question…

I’m not sure there is a comprehensive tutorial but there may be a thread or two on lines from last year which talk about it. The readme file in the libavr32 repository provides some details https://github.com/monome/libavr32/blob/master/README.md

All the monome modules are fairly similar hardware wise so you can move code between them w/o too much difficulty. I mention this because your ansible probably already has the UART header and reset switch installed. The older trilogy modules and teletype most likely don’t. If you want to work with one of the older modules you’ll want/need to solder on the UART header at a minimum:

The UART header part details are here:

…once you have that it looks like this installed on an earthsea (it is the 6-pin header on the right):

The serial adaptor I’ve been using is this one: https://www.sparkfun.com/products/9716. I didn’t have to install any drivers for it, it just shows up as a serial device (under macOS).

To connect to the serial adaptor I use the super basic cu command (which should work on linux as well) specifically:

sudo cu -l /dev/tty.usbserial-mod -s 115200