Typing Keyboard Recommendations

I’m looking for a nice compact keyboard to pair with Teletype. Is everyone just using the standard keyboard, or are folks using their own?

We can also turn this into a keyboards thread, if other people who don’t have TT have some strong recommendations.

this fully customizable keyboard has been spotted along a lines member:

http://www.wasdkeyboards.com/

you definitely want to make sure the keyboard doesn’t have a built in hub.

maybe check this thread too.

there was a little OT chatter about these later in that thread, but from a mostly functional perspective, after someone had luck w/ a logitech wireless usb keyboard i grabbed this and really appreciate it not being tethered to the module.

http://a.co/4wUpUe1

i would second wasdkeyboards. very well made and customizable. a little pricey though.

heres mine:

I’ve been using these for about 10 years … they go used for around $30 or less … the backlit model is best … waterproof and nice tactile, mechanical, heavy keys … love them: TG3 Keyboards

Ortholinear was a revelation for me - completely cleaned up my touch typing technique. Contrary to popular belief, I have found ortholinear to be much better for typing than staggered. I didn’t believe it until I tried it, but it’s true. I wish they would make laptops with ortholinear keyboards.

I use both types of keyboard (it is fairly impossible to avoid staggered keyboards), and I swap between them with very little drama.

wood

https://oree.co/product/board/

Love ortholinear as well, so much better for touch typing! Which one do you have? I found that unless its a split design I strain my wrist because I twist them outwards. So I’ve replaced my Planck with a Lets Split which I looove <3 Next I have to make second one with quiet clickies for the office. Actually need to sell my beautiful but unused Planck now I think of it. Curious for the Preonic and TypeMatrix 2030.

my Lets Split with grab bag caps: