Valve steam deck as ultimate portable daw

What do you think ?

It seems very powerful and very portable

5 Likes

I am no expert, but it looks tempting. I will wait for reviews.

1 Like

I thought the exact same thing when I saw it. Obviously the built-in audio i/o isn’t going to be the greatest. But the controls should be easily accessible and mappable.

I wonder if not using the GPU much will help with power consumption. They cite two to eight hours of game play. I suppose if you’re just running pd you’ll get the upper bound.

I’m wondering how repairable it is. If it’s a glue sandwich like most of these things are.

2 Likes

Would probably pair nicely with an ES-9. A good-sized portable touchscreen would probably be a must if one wanted to use a DAW more extensively, but the controller stuff could prove fun to experiment with as a controller for the DAW.

Some more information for folks:

3 Likes

damn I couldn’t resist to reserve one …

2 Likes

The handheld gaming form factor for music making has been very intriguing to me. Recently I acquired an RG-350, which runs Linux under the hood. In addition to running emulators, you can also develop games and applications for it using SDL, which I’m tempted to dip my toes into at some point. Granted, it’s not exactly a powerhouse in terms of processing power, but it is quite affordable and the build quality is nice (for a little more money, you can buy higher-quality revisions to the RG-350 like the RG-350M which features an aluminum body and higher quality screen).

Given the mechanical affordances and form factors of these family of devices, I think it’s fair to re-evaluate what exactly we mean when talk about “Digital Audio Workstations”.

2 Likes

I preordered one with excitement knowing that at the very least, I could natively install BitWig or renoise on the device. Can’t wait till Q1 2022

3 Likes