Video Synth Thread

Given the recent availability of the LZX Vidiot, would love to hear from anyone working with video synthesizers. I dropped “Analog” from the title of the thread, mostly so I could share things I’ve made with Lumen.

Rough sketch from a few weeks ago - I played Lumen as I listened to a 10 minute improvised synth piece I had recorded earlier that day. This was also the first time I combined processing with Lumen. The pulsing circle is a simple processing sketch shared with lumen via syphon.

Pretty basic, but it was fun to make. I got a bit distracted in the studio with another as-yet-unfinished project but have been itching to get back to making these sorts of videos.

WARNING: many flashing lights in the video, if you’re sensitive to that, don’t watch.

Would love to see anything else folks are willing to share!

10 Likes

Great to see some video love. I’ve been working with video synthesis for the past six years. My system is a hybrid of lzx(both old and new). Lumen. Vdmx, after effects, jitter, and occasionaly processing. I actually have the cv gorille module that connects cv to processing. Besides straight video pieces I use my system to make fabric based work.

19 Likes

Whoah…these are fantastic!

Amazing…it’s really a very interesting medium. Sound synthesis makes sense to me, analog video synthesis doesn’t. I get it well enough to be dangerous with Lumen, but I know I’ve just barely scratched the surface. Hope you continue to share your work!

1 Like

Any recommendations as far as practical gear to go with the vidiot? I’m jumping in, mine comes in on Thursday. Found a couple tv’s with component in. Thoughts on cameras, and ways to interface with the computer for recording? Very excited to mess with feedback.

If you do Facebook, the lzx community forum has some great threads regarding the vidiot and getting started with cameras, projectors, modules, etc.

2 Likes

always liked Gary Hill’s work (Rutt-Etra synth + Serge, late 70’s)

4 Likes