VPN opinions and recommendations

when is using a VPN a good idea? when on public wifi? all the time?
which VPN providers can we trust?

these questions have been on my mind lately. been looking around and doing my own research but i’d appreciating hearing opinions and thoughts from the lines community.

thanks!

1 Like

I’ve been using ExpressVPN for a couple of months… got a one year subscription for US$99 so I can watch Australian TV from the UK, and I guess so I can also access the Netflix libraries of other countries, as well as trying to get at least a little bit away from the long arms of the UK government and their data collection.

I’m happy with it, although it’s my first paid VPN, so I don’t have a lot to compare it to. I like the smart location feature, which allows you to connect to a nearby location, and I haven’t really noticed a drop in speed when using that. Accessing Australian content is a bit slower, but not awful. I tend to just leave it on all the time. They have apps for iOS and OSX, so it’s super easy to use the service across all of your devices, which is also good.

I’ve been a bit obsessed with tech privacy recently – reading articles, listening to podcasts, switching to Signal and ProtonMail – so this came as part of that. I’ll probably continue my subscription, unless something else which seems more practical comes out. I know the people at ProtonMail have a beta VPN at the moment, which is only available to paid subscribers, so I’m also keeping an eye on that.

1 Like

It bothers me that I don’t really have any heuristics for this. It’s basically a smell test. Maybe referrals like this help some folks, but I’m paranoid enough to end up despairing about it all. There’s also an argument to be made that any tech fix for many privacy/surveillance rights issues is by definition a band-aid, and that we really need better legal protection.