White Whale not sending clock signals?

Hi all,

Recently picked up a used White Whale. It was working fine… Last night it froze up… It appears it won’t send out clock signals…

When I turn on the modular all 5 right hand led’s are orange and stay stuck that way. If I plug in the monome it shows the sequence but nothing moves…

If I plug an external clock into the “clock in” on the WW it will work as expected.

I’m just starting to learn WW so perhaps I have it stuck in some mode unknown to me? I’ve verified -12v connections and tried cycling power, and attaching to different power connections in the modular.

Any ideas what might be going on?

I’m using the Intellijel 7U 104HP case by the way.

Thanks!
D

Is the four from the right, top row button half-lit? There is an alternative firmware that allows you to stop the internal clock. If it’s fully lit the internal clock is running, half-lit it’s stopped, and plugging in an internal clock overrides this. If that’s not the case, then perhaps reinstall the current firmware?

1 Like

@GoneCaving that button you mentioned wasn’t lit at all… I think I had the standard firmware loaded.

I went ahead and downloaded the current standard firmware and re-flashed and installed via the monome.org instructions to WW ver 1.5. All terminal results were “successful”.

Still nothing… If I clock from an external source everything appears to function correctly, although I still have some testing to do…

Is there a way to test if something has failed with a diagnostics port or something? I have a lot of electronics gear and I’m not afraid to dive in with some guidance!

Thanks all
D

This is a shot in the dark but are you sure you have enough +5v power? Being one of the older modules it does pull on the +5v line for the grid.

Does the the clock out work when there is an expernal clock input?