Women and Trans People Discussion thread

So! stuff has been going down on the Where are the women and non cis males? thread, so I thought I’d start the thread about us that we actually want to read!

I’d love to hear from the other people on this thread who aren’t cis men - women and trans people! (don’t worry guys you can join in too just be respectful). This can be a place for discussing how identity is related to process, how it affects your interactions with music and the music industry, pretty much the good discussion that was happening on this previous thread before it went a bit wrong!

Would be really great if we could keep this thread a safe space, so people who might be otherwise worried or reluctant about sharing experiences can feel free to do so. I understand @glia was possibly interested in actively moderating a thread like this?

Anyway, I’ll start, I’m a trans woman, I’m an art student working in sound art, using mostly field recordings and modified tapes, but I’ve just dipped my toe into modular :slight_smile: At some point I really want to make a looping sound piece about transphobia in the media and how if you google pretty much any trans issue your more likely to see transphobia than support, but im struggling to collect any raw material as every time I start searching it gets too intense.

Where are the women and non cis males?

Thanks for starting this thread!

@pheeb: I’m also working with field recordings :slight_smile:

My practice - I’m an audio-visual artist working in psychogeography, and using aspects like field recording, field footage, music visualisation and performance to address questions like the what and why an artist would choose a certain landscape to base their work. A lot of my work has an undertone of trauma.

Currently I identify as a woman, although I sometimes wonder if I’m more closer to NB or transmasculine…but she/her pronouns are okay :slight_smile: